The Introduction Blog

This is a blog post about my experiences moving from a teaching career in computing to working in that industry as a software developer. It is an opinion piece, I realise that there will be some sections of this you may disagree with and that’s fine. It’s not meant to slander either Computing teaching or industry, it’s my experience of the transition. I know some may say “well I do that…” or “it’s not like that for me” and that’s fine, this is an opinion and not meant to offend anyone.

I will also say I moved from teaching during the coronaVirus of 2020, that means that the initial onboarding from teaching/industry was vastly different due to the home-working and all the other things going on. I’ve tried to measure that as well, but it’s difficult as I had no idea what went before.

I’m intending to make this blog a bit of a lot of things. It’s to outline the different things I have learned, what I have to learn and how the whole process differs from both what we teach in secondary education and what student’s learn in secondary education(hopefully giving an insight to those who want to enter the industry what it is like and what it’s like to learn).

A lot of people say that blogging about the things you learn help you to consolidate your learning and putting it in words you understand…..so that’s what I’m hoping….here goes!